Fall 2008 UMASS Amherst
Operations Research / Management Science Seminar Series

Date: Friday, September 19, 2008

Time: 11:00 AM
Location: Isenberg School of Management, Room 112

Speaker: Professor Daron Acemoglu

Department of Economics
  Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA

Biography: Daron Acemoglu is the Charles P. Kindleberger Professor of Applied Economics in the Department of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA. He received his Ph.D. from the London School of Economics in 1992. He also received his MSc. from LSE in 1990 and a B.A. from the University of York in 1989. He joined the MIT faculty in 1993 and was promoted to Professor of Economics in 2000. In 2004 he was appointed the Charles P. Kindleberger Professor of Applied Economics.

Included among the awards that he has received are: the T. W. Shultz Prize from the University of Chicago in 2004, the Sherwin Rosen Award for outstanding contributions to labor economics from the Society of Labor Economics in 2004, the John Bates Clark Medal from the American Economic Association in 2005, the Distinguished Science Award from the Turkish Sciences Association in 2006, the John von Neumann Award from Rajk College, Budapest, in 2007, and an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Utrecht in 2008. He is a Fellow of the Society of Labor Economists, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Econometric Society, and the European Economic Association.

His interests include: Political Economy, Economic Development, Economic Growth, Economic Theory, Technology, Income and Wage Inequality, Human Capital and Training, Labor Economics, and Network Economics.

TITLE: Bayesian Learning in Social Networks

This series is organized by the UMASS Amherst INFORMS Student Chapter. Support for this series is provided by the Isenberg School of Management, the Department of Finance and Operations Management, INFORMS, and the John F. Smith Memorial Fund.

Dr. Anna Nagurney, the John F. Smith Memorial Professor of Operations Management in the Isenberg School of Management,  is the Faculty Advisor of the Speaker Series.